I Don’t Want You To Think Like Me. I Just Want You To Think!

I Don’t Want You To Think Like Me. I Just Want You To Think!

I Just Want You To Think

In my opinion, cults come to be because the leader is very good at telling their “followers” what to think to the point where they believe they feel the same way. I’m making that sound bad, but it doesn’t have to be if you think about it.

I wish the entire world was part of a cult under a leader that had everyone thinking they had to be kind, considerate, compassionate and against stabbing others in the back; would build a strong people that built other up instead of making a bunch of crabs in a buck that pull the strong ones down.

But I don’t see that happening in the near future. At least, not while I’m alive; unless I can make that happen and leave my mark on the world.

Hmm…

But I digress.

The point of this post is to alert people to the fact that our entire lives we are being told what to think and how to think; by our parents, teachers, friends, enemies, the media. Subliminal messages and double standards are everywhere and they run our lives. We are being fed fear and doubt instead of hope and confidence. We are fed one idea and we aren’t taught, at least some of us aren’t taught, to tolerate other perspectives.

I feel that needs to end.

For those who haven’t seen them yet, I have been posting things that have videos by the Nostalgic Critic. In those posts, I would give you my thoughts first and then you would hear his. I did that on purpose.

I encourage you to listen to the people around you and learn to value peoples’ perspectives. Get out of your bubble, you box, your comfort zone and learn to put yourself in other peoples’ shoes. Think.

I’m not saying think like me. I’m saying think.

There is more than one perspective. There is more than one think you can learn to be in this world. We live in an age of information, specializing when you can take advantage of that is hurting you.

I am learning to be a writer, poet, storyteller, artist, and internet marketer. I don’t have anything that defines me except for what I am, which is human, a woman, and a college graduate. But just because I graduated from school does not mean my education ends there.

I go to the library almost every day. I have at least 30 books check out right now that include topics like Tumblr/Wordpress for Dummies, to financial literacy, to new writing techniques.

My perspective on life keeps changing the more I read.

And it is still MY perspective.

Read.

Learn.

Think.

What book will you be reading today?

6 thoughts on “I Don’t Want You To Think Like Me. I Just Want You To Think!

  1. And how much more powerful we can be when we can think on our own. Be that world changer as you already are. You are affecting all those you come in contact with when you live with this motto. No robots!!!! Just others who have a tolerable respect for others views without forgetting themselves who they are and what they stand for.

    Like

  2. Erica you are on the right track. Reading, especially non-fiction, can open up not only people’s minds but their hearts as well. We are all God’s creatures and as such we need to begin to see the values and gifts we share not the superficial differences that divide us from each other and God. Very pleased you are following my blog. Thank you and God bless.

    Like

  3. Though your message is in opposition to the norm these days, it should be said. Thank you for visiting my blog. Good luck with your blog. Keep learning, keep growing. I wish you much success !

    Like

What do you think?

