Academics; Social Life; Sleep. Pick 2. That’s College.

Academics; Social Life; Sleep. Pick 2. That’s College.

Pick 2

While in college, a friend of mine, at the time, brought this up and I thought it was genius. Then I started seeing it all over the internet and the pictures that backed up his statement and I HAD to make an article about it!

Because he was absolutely right!

From personal experience, I tried to pull off all three in my final semester of college AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAND…

No.

I eventually had to make a choice and I chose social life and academics. I got very little sleep. It was my final semester! I wanted to hang out with my friends more before I left!

But during my first 3 years of college (I graduated in 3.5 years. :D) I chose academics and sleep. My social life was almost no existent. I joined a couple clubs, but that was really one of the only times people saw me outside of class.

Hey.

I graduated early.

It was worth it.

But there are some health risks to any of these. If you choose good grades and sleep, you will be considered a nerd. If you choose social life and sleep, you are called a slacker. If you choose social life and sleep… don’t do it. I know from personal experience. I got straight C’s my final semester. I was secretary of 2 clubs. Do I regret my decision, no, but I would like you to learn from my mistake. I didn’t manage my time as well as I should have.

But one thing I would like to discuss with you in terms of the “Pick 2” system, you need to be weary of other peoples’ decision. If you choose to have a social life and sleep, or social life and good grades, whether you are in high school or college, you need to understand that other people aren’t like you. They will pick another set. If you know that someone has chosen good grades/academics and sleep and you want to party, move the party somewhere else.

College isn’t just about you. If you are there to party, be aware of your surroundings. Just because you might want to party, doesn’t mean that everyone else in your hall wants to. Don’t be selfish and blast your music if you know you are surrounded by people who are trying to study and/or sleep.

I understand the impulse. I understand that you are going to go wild because you do not have your parents over your shoulder. You are free to be you and do what you want, but so is everyone else around you. If you want college life to be simple and happy, you need to understand everyone.

Calling someone a nerd or ostracizing someone because they are extremely intelligent and all they do is study is rude.  It also doesn’t help with self-esteem. Not everyone is there to party; some are going to be taking their studies seriously so they can learn a trade and get a good job. Have a career. If you want to party, fine. I suggest you don’t do that all the time, but fine. But be aware that others want to study.

BUT if you are someone who has decided to focus on academics, you also need to be aware that not all people have made your same decision. You need to understand that while you may be more into your own success and getting your grades, others just want to have fun for a while. You need to be understanding of that.

Calling someone lazy or a slacker because all they want to do is party and have fun is rude. It also doesn’t help with self-esteem. Not everyone is there to study. I understand that can be frustrating, but you also need to understand that some people came from a strict and they feel they are finally free.

The first year is a year for experimentation. This is a good time to figure out your temperament. What I suggest is, when you get the chance, have a hall meeting. Bring up these issues. Come to some sort of consensus. No one wants to be angry all year, especially not their first year.

Keep your cool.

Take a deep breath.

Think things through.

Anyone have any thoughts on the matter? Comment!

One thought on “Academics; Social Life; Sleep. Pick 2. That’s College.

  1. Pingback: Academics; Social Life; Sleep. Pick 2. That’s College. | Get To Know Erica!

What do you think?

