ten poems to set you free- here’s one.

Self-Portrait

by David Whyte

It doesn’t interest me if there is one God

or many gods.

I want to know if you belong or feel

abandoned.

If you know despair or can see it in others.

I want to know

if you are prepared to live in the world

with its harsh need

to change you. If you can look back

with firm eyes

saying this is where I stand. I want to know

if you know

how to melt into that fierce heat of living

falling forward

the center of your longing. I want to know

if you are willing

to live, day by day, with the consequences of love

and the bitter

unwanted passion of your sure defeat.

 

I have heard, in that fierce embrace, even

the gods speak of God.

 

FANTASTIC poem! It sums up the message I have been trying to spread; trusting yourself, just like the poem The Journey by Mary Oliver.

And I bring up this poem in particular because it is the first in a series of ten, as the title of the post suggests. It is contained in a novel named ten poems to set you free (click the title to purchase on Amazon) written by Roger Housden. FANTASTIC book! The very first poem got me hooked!

Related articles

One thought on “ten poems to set you free- here’s one.

  1. Pingback: ten poems to change your life- here’s one. | Become Empowered

What do you think?

